Six Day Prime Lens Challenge

I recently took a stock check again of photo gear and thought about what worked best and what I needed in order to facilitate advancing. I have always loved prime lenses and see myself potentially using primes exclusively both professionally and for pleasure. Why do I love primes? Well apart from the fact that primes usually have the edge on low light performance, sharpness, bokeh, price and size, the fixed frame is a wonderful way to approach the world. For portraits I have almost exclusively used primes. On crop sensor cameras I found 2.8, the widest aperture zoom I could get, at 50 to 100, to be simply not blurred out enough. In fact, if you want a 2.8 zoom lens above 70, as far as I know, you have to spend a considerable amount of money and 2.8 is still inferior to 1.8 or 1.4 for much cheaper. Zooms are versatile. I understand that. Especially for event photography but primes offer an opportunity to slow down, see the world a certain way, move more! and also add consistency to your work. I mean, think about it, if you only use one focal length on a given day, you immediately create consistency and a kind of relationship between the images.

So I set myself a challenge. I recently moved to Cork city in Ireland and I am going out each morning for six mornings, to photograph the world I see around me. My line up of lenses is what I spoke about here in a previous post: 28mm, 50mm and 85mm. What makes it more interesting is that I am using crop and full frame. This means the field of view will be different on the crop. I will get 42, 75 and 127.5 respectively. These are a little bit odd to be honest and especially for street and walkabout photography. On the first day I used a 28mm 2.8 Sigma lens on my Nikon crop camera and today the 28mm on my 35mm film camera. I much preferred it today. Anyway, that is the plan. I will make a brief post for each experience. Mention the good, the bad and the ugly about the lens in particular and the focal length in general. Stay tuned for more. Like and Subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

